Dunmoochin

Standard
Dunmoochin

Dunmoochin

I returned to Australia late August and took up a one year residency in Dunmoochin, one of only four or so artist communities of its kind in this country. I’m also fortunate to be living and working in Clifton Pugh’s former studio. His presence is still very much evident. If not in artefacts one finds around the building or the remnants years of painting on the floors, many of my dreams of late feature this three times Archibald prize winning painter.

Am settling into Dunmoochin nicely. Slowing down considerably…

The days here are incredible. Every minute of every day one notices distinct change in colour here. Even the ground cover changes, and so it should – it’s windy at times and leaves will fall! But with a little rain, and there’s been that in recent days, in places there grows a moss-like creeping plant. Incredible stuff.

I’m told within a couple kilometre radius, Dunmoochin hosts some of the rarest, and tiniest orchards to be found any where. Some, perhaps only two or three plants left in the pool!

Now that I’m here, with two years of travelling unpacked and many more memories to adsorb, I want for nothing more than to become more attuned with Dunmoochin and its legacy. In short, I don’t particularly want to go any where! I’m not only travel weary, I’ve got a lot of work I need to do, and to do that work at a reasonable pace. I also want to re-kindle my cooking skills and clean up the gardens here. The idea of packing yet another bag and setting off, which I must in less than a couple of weeks, seems frightfully challenging at this time.

September stills of Dunmoochin.

2 thoughts on “Dunmoochin

  1. Julie Clarke

    Andrew,
    Dunmoochin looks absolutely lovely. Having time to think and reflect is so important to creativity. I’m sure that you will use the time well. Re-kindling your cookings skills is another way of getting back to basics, relationship of food to land and to your own spiritual well being. Enjoy! Julie

  2. Most encouraging, Julie… We (humans) in so many parts of the world, both on and off-line, are far too “fast” for the kind of pace that affords one the time to reflect, nurture and create… Thank you.

Leave a Reply

