Journey well, Mr Ballard

Standard

 As a young man, Ballard influenced my thinking of the world we inhabit more than any other author. The Drowned World still inhabits part of my consciousness and I reflect on it when ever I find myself in the forests of Borneo or the savannas of southern Africa.

A classic portrait of Mr Ballard, reminding me very much of my father, hung in my studio for nearly two decades. He had become a companion of sorts, watching over the endless hours of music making, writing and the heart breaks in between.

Art… the freedom to innovate through it, to stimulate and remind us of the interconnectedness of things, that we are made of the same stuff of stars, is part of the legacy he will leave me and I am sure many more besides.

Journey well, Mr Ballard…

Leave a Reply

