Nothing known and forgotten

2 10 2008

Arrived in Vienna this morning stiff and achy. There’s far too little leg room in Austria Airlines flights. I’d promised myself I’d not fly with them any more, but hard to tell who’s flying who with all the carrier deals going. I thought I’d be on Thai Air, but they took me from Melbourne to Bangkok only.

I’ll be based in Graz for at least a couple of months with plans for a white Christmas, the first ever, with family here. It’s been a long while since I’ve worked on a gallery piece. The ESC Gallery is giving me that opportunity with my new installation, Nothing Known. When I think about it, I’ve had more invitations like this from Austria than any other country and certainly far more than at home.

Bakun elder, Sarawak

Kenyah elder, Sarawak

I want to put the faces of indigenous Sarawak on large screens, the larger the better. At very slow frame rates one will see the faces shown in detail, in close up with the camera tracking over contours of skin, facial outlines, eyes…

I’d learnt in Sarawak that archiving cultural knowledge, indigenous cultural knowledge does little to protect it. It becomes remembered in research, coffee table chatter, gossip… the deepest transmission occurs through presence… physical, immediate presence. The songs, the dances, hunting, farming, the stuff of life, accumulated generational knowledge, wisdom… from what I’d seen, from the interviews we had with the eldest people in one of the Bidayuh Kampongs, one generation is all it takes to lose their story-tellers and musicians.

The story was the same in South Africa. Meeting the anthropologist Barbera Tyrrell (on her 94th birthday!) it was clear her attempt to record traditional and ceremonial garments from many African tribes was but a drop in the proverbial ocean. She’d told me that there were few people in the various Diaspora on the continent that could remember what their own people had worn let alone danced in at least one to two generations past.

More when I’m less tired and a charged laptop…

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 10 2008
Simon Rumble

Ahh! My work involves dealing with developers based in Graz every day. I might have to send you on some arse-kicking errands from time-to-time ;)

Let me know when you’ve got something to show and I’ll make sure some of them head along.

2 10 2008
andrew garton

My charge out rate for arse-kicking is pretty high these days ;) I’d like to think my arse-kicking days are over… Either way, your colleagues are welcome to view the work(s) from 4 October onwards at http://esc.mur.at/ :)

2 10 2008
Jamie Wilson

Off on another adventure already? We need to see more about Tokyo!

Have safe and enjoyable travels!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

